Keep on Trekking!

Can you believe it? Less than a week ago I was gutting it out at B+S Sports in Salem and today I arrived in Namche Bazar en route to Everest base camp. This quick and efficient arrival is quite contradictory as how things usually proceed once in Nepal. This time our quick progress into the Khumbu Valley has been remarkable.
I arrived in Kathmandu short one duffel. I was assured that should the errant bag not arrive most of it’s contents could be replaced in Nepal – I don’t think so! That duffel contained the mother load of American cuisine. All those little yummies that I was counting on to make my stay a little more pleasant. All I could think about was my large jar of Jiff, my swedish fish and….the gummy bears! But the bag was located- arrived 24 hours later and I was happily reacquainting myself with the contents the night before we left for Lukla.

Without so much as a hiccup we flew to Lukla and began trekking to Phakding (yes pronounce it as you may well imagine) it has taken me four trips to the Khumbu to finally write the name of this village. Now we are at 11,500 feet in the heart of the Sherpa valley in Namche Bazar one of my favorite villages along the 36 mile trek to base camp. We will be here for three nights to gain strength for this new altitude and to get stronger for the ever thinning air above. This is a bustling village full of life and commerce. The deliveries of food and necessities all arrive on the back of a human or yak and loads are constantly moving up and down the valley. I had an encounter along the trail yesterday with a wayward mule, something rarely seen around here but gaining in popularity. He came right at me so it was a duck and cover. Not something I expected to be writing about…” hey I got struck by a mule!” We both are no worse the wear but I am now the brunt of some good jokes over it. Guess it was all caught on film. All I recall was a very large red furry thing coming straight at me at what looked like tremendous speed.

I write this blog on my very own computer which is both a thrill and as most of you know, technology causes me a great deal of stress. As well it should since I am sitting in a tea house which at the moment has no electrical power (electricity is via generator, solar or hydro electric and very sketchy) not because of region’s primitive power source but because I plugged something in and single-handedly caused a black out. Need I say more?

We will be in Namche for three nights using this time to go out for hikes at higher altitudes and to rest. Our team leader Dave Hahn has reminded us and asked that we pass along in our communications that we can’t always get internet and to use our time wisely instead of stressing about communications. My focus will have to be on staying healthy and climbing and when I can write I will but from now to base camp my blogs will be infrequent. Rainier Mountaineering also has updates via their website (www.rmiguides.com) which you can also use to track our progress. They are better equipped getting information out and since my little electrical episode I had better be careful
Feeling great, loving being here and getting to know the gang I am going to be with for the next two months. I am looking forward to your emails so keep them coming! Sheryl I am waiting for the Red Sox scores once the season opens! Jeremee and Bob hold down the fort at B+S, Joyce and Terry take care of Mom, and Chris, Jeff and Alex Booker I’ll try not to do too many embarrassing things but I’m already way ahead on that so accept my apologies now.

Namaste
Wendy

1 Response to “Keep on Trekking!”


  1. 1 Seth's Uncle Bob April 5, 2010 at 9:29 pm

    Red Sox came from behind to beat the Yanks 9-7 in the opener at Fenway Sunday night.


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


