World MS Day – May 27th!

Just a quick note to remind everyone that May 27th is World MS Day.  Individuals from over 100 countries are participating – and it’s very timely that Wendy’s Everest climb is occurring right around the date of the first annual World MS Day!

World MS Day will unite individuals, groups and organizations in the global MS movement.  It will provide them with an opportunity to participate in events and activities that will raise awareness of MS as a global issue and raise funds to support the work of the movement, including MS research.

You can sign up to join the global movement by registering as an individual, organization or researcher and by registering your World MS Day event on the World MS Day map.

7 Responses to “World MS Day – May 27th!”


  1. 1 julie May 8, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Having been diagnosed last year, at the age of 48 with MS, I can honestly say tripping over your sight tonight has been inspirational.

    I know you are not a God. You are an ordinary Mum, woman etc. But what you are doing, pushing back your fears, your boundaries, to do what you do is truly inspirational.

    Thank you so much for giving me a hug kick up the butt !!

    I am with you all the way. Go girl !!

  2. 2 DEBBIE PITMAN May 9, 2009 at 2:27 am

    WENDY, I MET YOU AT THE HYATT IN KATHMANDU THE NIGHT BEFORE YOU LEFT TO CLIMB. THEN I SAW YOU AGAIN THE MORNING YOU WERE LEAVING FOR EVEREST & MET BROOKE.
    I AM BACK IN OKLAHOMA CITY & YOU ARE ONE OF THE MAIN STORIES I HAVE SHARED WITH MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY. I HAVE BEEN FOLLOWING YOUR PROGRESS AND I HAVE BEEN PRAYING FOR YOU. I JUST READ THAT YOU HAVE TO GO LOWER FOR NOW. FROM ALL I HAVE READ ABOUT CLIMBING EVEREST, I CAN TELL YOU ARE BEING EXTREMELY SMART! IS TOM DEVINE STILL WITH YOU?
    MY OLDEST SON HAPPENS TO BE A NEUROLOGIST AND WAS QUITE INTRIGUED WITH YOUR STORY.
    YOU ARE AN INSPIRATION TO ME!!!!!!!
    LOVED THE PRIVILEGE OF “SEEING YOU OFF” DEBBIE PITMAN

  3. 3 maureen foster May 10, 2009 at 4:37 am

    wendy

    climb on

    you have given m soo much inspiration…I so dearly want to walk the 50 miles 3day wallk in sept for ms

    Mauren

  4. 4 maureen foster May 10, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Wendy
    Your strenth and stamina never cease to amaze me…I want so much to make a difference with this diseaase after seing how much you do…no more whining for me

    climb on

    maureen

  5. 5 DEBBIE PITMAN May 12, 2009 at 2:01 am

    STILL CHECKING ON YOU AND THINKING OF YOU…
    I BOUGHT A BOOK IN KATHMMANDU BY REINHOLD MESSNER: MY QUEST FOR THE YETI IT HAS BEEN INTRIGUING. SO PART OF ME IS STILL IN NEPAL… REST WELL I KNOW YOU ARE LONGING TO BE UP ON THE MOUNTAIN
    MY BEST TO YOU, I’M FOLLOWING YOUR FOOTSTEPS

  6. 6 Beth May 18, 2009 at 3:38 am

    Wendy,
    I was at two of the talks that you gave in Southeastern Mass in the last couple of years and you are truly an inspiration. After seeing what you have done, I decided to get off my “buts” and finished my first Bike MS ride a couple of weeks ago. I hadn’t even ridden in about 20 years, but I started small (just did a 25K), but I’m already planning to go back next year and try the 50K. Your mountains are much bigger than the hills I’m biking, but I think that you are proof that anything is possible if you put your mind to it. Thank you!

  7. 7 Ellen May 22, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Hi Wendy, I met you in Rochester, NY at an MS convention. You signed a poster for me and my daughter; I carry mine as part of a notebook cover that I used for my vocal recitals. It helps to keep me on track! I’ve thought about you a lot and am glad you are finally at your dream mountain. If you don’t make the summit this time, you have accomplished more than most people who don’t have MS! I know you will try again and again until you succeed! I never had that kind of motivation before I had MS!!


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


