Chocolate Bunnies

Happy Easter from Dingboche highest internet cafe in the Khumbu!  All is well here.  I will keep this short because writing is difficult due to slow computer and we pay per minute.   I awoke hoping to catch the Easter sunrise but fell back to sleep which nseems funny since that is all we seem to do, sleep and play cards….got to love a   rest day. Tomorrow on to Loboche for two nights then to Gorka Shep for two nights and finally base camp No computer until base camp so I’ll save our stories until then.  We are all feeling great Tom hasn’t puked nor will he!!!

Climb on!

6 Responses to “Chocolate Bunnies”


  1. 1 Cinda Devine April 12, 2009 at 7:55 pm

    Hello again,
    Another blog. Yes! We will be anixously awaiting your next entry from base camp. Glad to hear all is well on the mountain. We are living the dream in Chugiak. The girls send their love.
    Thinking of you and the team,
    Cinda

  2. 2 Sheryl April 12, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    Happy Easter Chick (that’s funny!) sunrise here was spectacular. Cloud cover over Good Harbor provided for a classic “holy spirit” sunrise, which I thought quite appropriate for Easter Sunday. Pixie, John, and I enjoyed it. Would like to say I felt the same about the run–NOT! Stay safe, keep climbin’. GO SOX!
    PLF,
    Sheryl 😉

  3. 3 Jen April 13, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Hey Girl,
    I am keeping up on your posts, glad to hear all is well. I’m thinking of you every day and sending you good vibes. Be well!
    Love, Trainer Jen

  4. 4 Jill April 14, 2009 at 6:27 am

    Hi Wendy,
    I check in every now and then to see how you are doing. I am so excited for you and can not wait for the day you become the first person with MS to have climbed the Seven Summits! That will be such a day of victory for YOU and all of US with MS. I am climbing my own “mountians” while you climb Everest! I am recovering from a broken ankle, besides having MS. I had surgery and they put a plate with seven screws to put me back together again. Now I am doing physical therapy! My latest accomplishment, I stood on a trampoline and balanced myself with one foot, the broken foot!!! Yahoo! So for me, that was “one summit”! I guess I have 6 more to do?! You give me encouragement to press ON! So I’ll check back again and give you MY updates as YOU give US YOURS!! Stay as warm as YOU can. Maybe you will need a trip here to Arizona to warm UP after your final Victory?!! God Bless and take care, Wendy- We are all praying for YOU!! – much love from the desert- Jill OXOX 🙂

  5. 5 Josh Jones April 15, 2009 at 2:42 am

    Wendy,
    Just thought I would check in on my old tent buddy. I am sitting on a couch watching American Idol with Jenna right now, and wanting to send you a quick note. I am glad to hear that all is going well, I’m good myself. Remember to just let yourself climb and trust your training and those around you. Tell the gang I said “Hi” and stay safe.
    Love Ya,
    Josh

  6. 6 Wendy Drake April 15, 2009 at 4:49 am

    Hi Wen,
    Thinking of you every day and tracking your progress here. Saturday, Jorge and I hiked the ridge to the East Wall at A-Basin. Sat at the top of the ridge for a good ten minutes scouting a line to jaunt down…thinking of you step breathing all the way up Everest for hours and hours…all your work…all your training…all your persistence paying off. We love you here in Boulder and look forward to hearing first hand all about your adventure on your return.

    Love and hugs,
    Wen D


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


