Hail the Hyatt

I write from a computer on the sixth floor of my oasis, the Hyatt.  Out the window is the oldest Buddhist “stupa” outside of Tibet.  A stupa (excuse my spelling on that one) is a temple with a tower, it rather looks like an upside down ice cream cone.  Prayer flags are suspended from the top with twelve rings of enlightenment to the Buddha Eyes.  I like the Buddha Eyes looking back at me as I write this.  The stupa is perhaps a tenth of a mile from my window and it is all I can see.  The rest of the country side is totally obliterated by fog and low clouds.  No flight to Lukla at the moment and if not clear in the next two hours, no flight out today.

My three errant bags arrived late yesterday, felt like Christmas!  Clean clothes, a hairbrush, shoes ahhhhh all the luxuries one could hope for.  It was getting a tad weary to wash my one outfit out in the sink every night and put it on damp in the morning.  I’m smelling and feeling like a new person today.  Most of last night was spent organizing the gear and preparing for our now delayed departure.  The expedition bags will fly possibly separately from us and reconnect with us somewhere in the Khumbu.  We prepared a small backpack for a minimum of three days travel.  How is it the guy’s bags look reasonably small and light while Brooke and I look like we have enough gear for a small country?  I have my light sleeping bag, the -40 bag goes on to base camp, a light down coat, gortex in case of rain, various things like toothpaste, sunblock and ipod and a decant luxury -my old flat feather pillow!  Imagine that a down pillow complete with a Laura Ashley pillowcase is accompanying me to Everest…be still my heart. 

But now we wait and wait and well…wait.  Weather is the supreme decision maker in the mountains and certainly rules in the Himalaya and the weather is not looking too great for a departure today.

Good thing I am at the Hyatt reminded of the exotic world outside my door and reminded of the abundance of culture, sights and sounds that await.  I think the Buddha Eyes are smiling.

Climb On!

6 Responses to “Hail the Hyatt”


  1. 1 sheryl April 3, 2009 at 11:49 am

    Hi Wendy, the weather is the same here! At least your at the Hyatt, I spent the day yesterday on my hands and knees washing floors!!!
    PLF,
    Sheryl 😉

  2. 2 Minna Blair April 3, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Wendala….so much fun to follow your blog….glad the bags arrived…its rainey and miserable here if it makes you feel any better…Sheryl and I must be on the same page because I just spent the morning cleaning my floors…I think of you every day….enjoy every minute of this adventure….Love n’ hugs Minna

  3. 3 Mary Marcdante April 3, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Wendy, I found your story in Empowering Women mag yesterday and was/am beyond inspired by you and what you stand for. Thank you for all that you’re doing to inspire people to take responsibility for their health, their fears, and creating a life of meaningful presence.

    As you hike up Everest, summit, and descend, you may hear in the wind the guitar music, voice, and encouragement of a woman named Rosita Perez, one of our National Speakers Association’s great speakers and a loving mentor to me and so many others, who passed this year after a 25 year battle with MS. She sang to all of us over and over, “Don’t let your music die inside you. You can do it!” Wendy, thank you for carrying that message in your own unique and courageous way for all of us and Rosita.

    Grateful for you,

    Mary Marcdante

  4. 4 lisa April 4, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    well I am feeling like a lack luster SAHM. I did not wash any floors yesterday; nor do I plan to today!

    lots of love to you Wend

    PLF,
    lisa

  5. 5 Jen April 5, 2009 at 5:59 pm

    Hey girl,
    Glad the bags arrived and that you have a nice comfy hotel to rest and blog and sleep 🙂
    You’re in my thoughts and I know you are going to rock it!
    Love, Jen

  6. 6 Judi Sabella April 5, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    Hi Wendy,

    Thanks for the blog. I am excitied to follow your climb to the summit. You are an amazing woman and I am humbled to know you. I am confident that your desire and discipline will result in your delight.


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


