Coming Back to Kathmandu

Rudyard Kipling wrote that there are more temples than houses in Kathmandu and more gods than temples.

This morning I walked the gardens around the hotel. I am in an enclave safely surrounded by a Buddhist ‘Stupa” (temple)a monastery and market. I passed intricate fountains and bamboo groves where monkeys pestered each other and ate the vegetables grown for the hotel. The sounds of the morning prayers from the monastery – their monotone chants sounding like the sound of the digery-do from another far off continent. I love Nepal and love returning here. Once this country intimidated me. It’s intensity palatable. Now I love smelling curry and garlic mixed with incense and masses of humanity. Nepal has no natural source of energy and is currently unable to get any so the power goes out sporadically for sixteen hours per day -the ninth poorest country in the world-age expectancy only 52.

I am forced into relaxation because my luggage and gear did not arrive but are somewhere between Los Angeles and Nepal. Although I have nothing except what I wore on the flight this isn’t such a bad thing. I am relegated to the hotel grounds and having absolutely nothing to do for me is heavenly. Soon enough I will find plenty to work my mind and body. Ironically of my five enormous duffel bags 2 did arrive with me. They contained the 22 coats Teva donated, 15 pair of glasses Zeal donated and 36 Red Sox ball caps all for my Sherpa team. Guess I won’t be traveling too far from the hotel until I have all my gear. We are hopeful it will arrive on tomorrow’s flight along with Tom Devine. Tom and I met in Mexico and he has graciously and unselfishly decided to leave his family in Anchorage and see me all the way to base camp. Tom will see to my mental toughness and be a calming influence in the ensuing weeks. April 3 we hope to fly to Lukla and begin the trek to base camp over the next two weeks. Our schedule determined by how we feel and how we adapt to altitude. Base camp and the mountain will be very crowded this year since the southern route is the only route open. 29 teams are heading for Everest some as large as 50 including guides, Sherpas and clients. I will have many stories to share in the coming weeks.

To be continued…….

Climb On!

7 Responses to “Coming Back to Kathmandu”


  1. 1 susan April 1, 2009 at 2:11 pm

    Godspeed Wendy! You go girl!

  2. 2 Sheryl April 1, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Hey Chickie, Glad you made it and are blogging. I’ve been checking in and will regularly now. How’s the Hyatt? Don’t stay too long, you need to stay tough and strong–my bracelet’s on. I’m sure the staff at the Yak and Yeti are missing you! You go girl!!!
    PLF,
    Sheryl 😉

  3. 3 Felicia April 1, 2009 at 10:56 pm

    Just to confirm, Wendy, that our thoughts and good wishes are with you — along with our admiration! We’re checking in every day to see how you’re doing and where you are. By the time you come back home, we will NOT have snow!
    Love,
    Felicia

  4. 4 lisa April 2, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Hey honey

    hope your bags arrived today. you know I am still laughing about that. wearing my bracelet, too

    PLF,
    lisa

  5. 5 Jen April 2, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Hey Girl! Thanks for the update. Remember mental toughness comes from within you! Miss you already; be safe.
    Love Trainer Jen and your CO crew.

  6. 6 Helen April 2, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Wendy – I’ve loved finding your website, now seeing the first something new since we met on the plane. Know that here’s another who will be holding you in the light of this grand possibility, daily and more. I look forward too to your return and hope someday to enjoy a little time together – it felt somehow like sisters. XOXO Helen

  7. 7 Diana Moore April 5, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    Hi Wendy, You are an amazing inspiration to others. Well back in elementary and high school in Rye you were too!! Most of my family now is in New England, Colorado and Maryland and I am teaching elementary school in California. My husband’s brother has lived with MS now for several years.

    I wish you so much success on your next climb, and send to you my love, and support always. You are as pretty as I remember in high school.
    Stay positive, and follow your dreams. My prayers will be with always.
    Love, Diana Moore


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


