“We’ll Cho Oyu!”

 

First off I can not stake claim for the title of this blog.  “We’ll Cho Oyu” was the name of Amy Beeton’s (my climbing partner and dear friend) team when she climbed Cho Oyu in August 2006.   But I just had to borrow it because Brooke and I are having quite the time just getting to Cho Oyu.  This coming Friday, Aug. 29 we once again head for Nepal and hopefully on to Lhasa, Tibet to commence our climb of Cho Oyu.  The Chinese have made our plans a tad difficult and the mountain, and country for that matter, has eluded us.  Hopefully three times will be the charm.  Brooke has been busy getting the technology prepared for the climb and we hope to have our own little internet café at base camp.  I find the technology surrounding the mountains and website far more daunting than the climbs so I will happily leave that up to her.  We do have 500 minutes on our satellite phone so if all else fails I will call Trish back here in Boulder and she will keep the website up and running. 

 

To Mr. Cleere’s new fourth grade class!  As I write this you are still enjoying the last few days of your summer vacation and by the time you are back in school I will be on the mountain.  You will have to meet me in person in October but I will be with you long before we meet.  Last year’s class, Carlos, Laura, Ray, Mateo and all the rest will fill you in and we will be climbing together!  You are in for quite the year as we will be going to not only Cho Oyu but Australia and in March we begin our attempt of Everest.  Are you ready?  So just like last year’s class we will greet one another in the traditional Sherpa gesture, hands clasped and head slightly bowed and we say “Namesta” – my soul, greets your soul!  Welcome to the mountains gang the view will be incredible.

 

So you are all reading this blog and thinking that perhaps I finally have everything in order and am not heading out the door in my usual fly by the seat of your pants fashion.  Oh so very wrong- for if it were any other way I wouldn’t be the Wendy everyone has come to expect.  I have been challenged by new equipment requiring hours familiarizing myself with settings on a new altimeter (this should make many of you laugh since you know I can’t change my watch from eastern time to mountain time without a great deal of trouble) I have a million obligations before I leave and am the recipient of an achievement award from the Boulder Chamber of Commerce, the ceremony taking place in September while I am on the mountain.  Someday I will manage to be in one place for a period of time but then again I would get antsy and drive everyone crazy and you would suggest I go out and find something to do right?

 

Enjoy the fall in where ever this finds you. I will be thinking of pumpkins and cider but will return to the first nip of winter.  Thank you once again to the hundreds who have taken the time to email me world wide.  I have heard amazing stories and am inspired by amazing things so many of you are doing with challenges.  I am humbled and I am blessed that in taking on my mission I have been afforded an opportunity to hear about so many of yours.

 

Yup, no matter what “we’ll Cho Oyu!”

 

Climb On!

2 Responses to ““We’ll Cho Oyu!””


  1. 1 Linda Quirk August 28, 2008 at 12:14 pm

    Hi Wendy: Just wanted to wish you well on your next journey. I will be thinking of you and following your progress. It was truly a pleasure meeting you and to be part of “Team Invigorate.” I’ll also be in Australia in October…maybe I’ll see you on the mountain (that would be a marathon for me!) God Speed.

    Linda Quirk

  2. 2 DEb From CEDAR RAPIDS August 29, 2008 at 9:36 am

    Good luck to you Wendy you are an inspiration Cedar Rapids is a mess we have nothing but shells for businesses just when we are thinking of giving it all up because of the city your newsletter came along Thanks we will trudge on !!! we mhave a very high mountain climb also .. Thanks to you Deb


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


