COMING OF AGE

So often I am asked, even by my own family, how did I come to want to climb the seven summits?  Was I always like this?

 I’ve never been able to answer that question – until now. 

I like a personal challenge.  I like being able to ask why not when told otherwise.  Just ask my high school teachers about that one.  I always want to find that adventure around the next corner and often that adventure is of our own creation.  Adventures don’t just appear out of nowhere; sometimes we have to go looking for them.  Sometimes when we do find them they are far more than we bargained for or even anticipated and sometimes we just want to return home to the comfort and stability we left behind.  But to really reach, to really grow we need to try and step out of that proverbial box and test ourselves. 

How did I take on this challenge?  I had to look no further than my own mother who at the ripe old age of 87 just purchased her very first computer. 

Less than a week ago her Dell arrived.  I have already received my first email.  She already has her first virus.  When she turns it on my photo is on her desktop, I don’t even know how to do that.  I suspect by next week she’ll be surfing, IMing, downloading itunes and paying her bills on line.  My mother has stepped into the computer age when most ladies her age are knitting.  I know she is stretching her comfort level way beyond the breaking point. 

How wonderful to still have an adventure around the next corner even well into your eighties. I hope I too never stop learning because if we stop learning we stop growing.  I want to grow forever just like my mother. 

Yup, I believe my spirit comes from a genetic link directly to the soul of my very brave and most admirable Mum.

Climb On!

3 Responses to “COMING OF AGE”


  1. 1 lisa March 13, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    Girlfriend,

    How dare you “dis” knittting! Not only older women knit. Maybe that will be your post mountain challenge. I can teach you to knit. I can’t even imagine!

    PLF

    lisa

  2. 2 Nola March 19, 2008 at 1:44 am

    Wendy,
    I met you in Vero Beach after your inspirational speech when you had returned from South America mountain climbing. I thoroughly enjoyed the presentation.
    Tonight I have found out that my daughter’s dearest friend has been diagnosed. This 33 year-old is a young mother of a new baby and a 3-year-old and is also a nurse, about to end her family leave and return to work.
    The MRI supports MS. How can I be as inspirational to her as you were to me?

  3. 3 Bob Theisen April 13, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Wendy, I only wish you the best….You have been a true inspiration to me & allowed me to follow dreams I didn’t even know I had…LOL

    Hope the B D safe Clip is working well for you

    Copaxone Bob from Tampa


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


