Would the Real Wendy Booker Please Stand Up!

I’m loving these emails I receive through my web site.  I try really hard to answer them but suddenly find I am swamped.  One of those unanswered emails belonged to ‘Wendy Booker’.  Okay, nothing unusual about that so when I saw the email in my inbox and saw Wendy Booker I figured by some hyber space miracle I had written to myself.  Now not having time to answer everyone’s emails I knew I would never get around to answering myself so I ignored it….for months. 

I finally had to clean out my mailbox and got to the ‘Wendy Booker’ email.  I opened it. I read it and I just could not remember writing it.  I read it again.  Something just wasn’t making sense.  My god!  I have had identity theft!  No, that wasn’t it.  But this other Wendy, she had so much incommon with Wendy.  I finally wrote to her appologizing for my delay in an answer.  She was delightful.  An email relationship ensued and it didn’t take long for us to discover that there were indeed two Wendy Bookers.  We are both blond.  We both lived in Salt Lake City. We both have family back east. We both live in Colorado about thirty minutes apart.  And oh, by the way, did I mention that we both have MS?  Are we feeling kind of ‘twilight zone-ish’ here?

This past Sunday I had the pleasure of meeting Wendy Booker and her husband Dave.  Isn’t it interesting how life takes us along this very strange path and should we choose to follow how many incredible adventures await? Had I not moved west I would never have had the opportunity to sit across the table from…well, Wendy Booker!

A picture will soon follow with Dave Booker and his wife Wendy, one on either side!  Would the ‘real’ Wendy Booker please stand up!

Climb On!

1 Response to “Would the Real Wendy Booker Please Stand Up!”


  1. 1 Wendy H. Booker December 3, 2007 at 4:37 am

    Hello, Wendy!

    We are putting together our quarterly family newsletter, and of course, writing about our meeting with you and Alex! I cannot for the life of me remember sending pics to you from that day! Rats! And shoot, I can’t even use the convenient excuse of “brain damage” with you! ;o) You know better!

    More soon, and pics for sure!
    Wendy, too (Wendy 2?)


Leave a Reply

Posts by Date

November 2007
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

About Wendy Booker

In June of 1998, this 55 year old mother of three was diagnosed with relapsing-remitting MS after experiencing balance problems, blurred vision and numbness on her left side. When first diagnosed, Wendy was devastated. But it took very little time for her to transform anguish into inspiration. She immediately turned her hobby of casual running into a continuous pursuit and has now completed nine marathons.

Mountain climbing became the next conquest. Wendy learned about a team of mountain climbers with Multiple Sclerosis who were attempting to climb Mt. McKinley (Denali) in Alaska. With no previous climbing experience, she dedicated a year to hard training and set off with them in 2002. Although weather conditions prohibited the team from completing, Wendy attempted the summit again in 2004 on her own and she succeeded!

The feeling of accomplishment she experienced propelled her next aspiration: to climb the highest mountain on each continent. Just five years later, Wendy Booker has successfully reached the top of six of The Seven Summits – Mt. Kilimanjaro, Mt. McKinley, Mt. Elbrus, Mt. Aconcagua, Mt. Vinson Massif and Mt. Kosciuszko. Mt. Everest, the highest mountain on earth, still awaits for 2010.


